9/11 Memorial & Remembrance

15 years later, we haven’t forgotten.

Visiting the 9/11 memorial was a very different experience for me compared to all the other attractions I saw in New York. This wasn’t just another place to pose and take silly pictures in front.

When my family and I were walking towards the memorial, I remember how emotional I felt. Upon arriving at the memorial site, I thought back to September 11, 2001, and I remembered the day 9/11 happened. I was in 1st grade, sitting in the classroom playing with my classmates, when the teacher turned on the TV. I remember looking at the screen and watching the news but not being able to make complete sense of what had happened. I saw fire. smoke. and buildings. And then I heard the news reporter explaining that the Twin Towers were attacked.

I was too young back then, so I didn’t know how to process everything.. but I can clearly remember that day. I will never forget.

This memorial was absolutely stunning and moving to see in person. The 9/11 museum and One World Trade Observatory requires you to purchase tickets (which we did not purchase tickets for). But please trust me when I say you must visit this memorial site at least once in your life. Truly an unforgettable experience.

img_1741img_1663All the names are inscribed around the entire memorial in respect to the lives that were lost on 9/11/01.
img_1664img_2326img_1740

One World Trade Center.

img_2327img_1738img_1739So many emotions evoked as I was looking up at this beautiful building where the Twin Towers used to be.

Today I wanted to take the time to write this blog post to share these pictures and my experience with you all. The 9/11 memorial is a beautiful and powerful tribute for those who lost their lives. Today I want to take the time to pay my respect and remember all of those who lost their lives. To remember the first responders who sacrificed their lives for others. To remember everyone who lost a loved one. My thoughts and prayers are with the victims and families who will forever be impacted.

“If we learn nothing else from this tragedy, we learn that life is short and there is no time for hate.”

I think that quote above says it all, life is truly short and there’s no time for hate. You know what is always inspiring to me is that when tragedy stroke, we were all strong and came together. What we’ve gone through as a nation over the past 15 years shows that love is so much stronger than hate. I’m so proud to be an American.

United we stand.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post today. ❤

Stay connected with me on: Instagram / Pinterest / Tumblr / Twitter

signature

3 thoughts on “9/11 Memorial & Remembrance

Leave a Reply

