Top of The Rock

I am actually in denial that my last first day of school technically begins tomorrow. I’m going to be a senior in college. what?!?! These days I’ve just been trying to catch up with myself and life. How does time always manage to go by so fast.. I’m feeling a bit sentimental (as always) right now so I also just want to take this time to thank you all for sharing my life with me. Having you guys on this journey with me truly means the world and I’m lucky to have such wonderful readers who stick by me like you guys. Thank y’all always for your overwhelming love and support! I know I have still yet to get back to all the birthday wishes you guys left me, but I have definitely read them and will reply soon ❤

Now onto Top of The Rock!

I still refuse to believe summer is over. I think I’m going to hold on for awhile by continuing to update lots of pictures of New York hahah..

Ahh yes. The Rockefeller Center. You definitely will not miss this if you’re just walking down the street. Once you see about 200 stunning flags all lined around the plaza, you know you’re in the right place. If you come during the winter season, you’ll find that they completely transform this area into an ice-skating rink and a place where the lighting of the large Christmas tree occurs.

IMG_1677IMG_1782IMG_2195Pictured: Selfie with my family in front of the plaza.

We really enjoyed spending our time out here exploring the center. There’s endless pictures and features to take in there. We maybe even enjoyed it all a little too much because we were almost late for our check in time for Top of The Rock haha.. If you preordered your tickets online and scheduled a time, it’s best to arrive at least 20 minutes beforehand; it never hurts to arrive early. Yes, you won’t be able to go up to the observation deck until your scheduled time, but that just means you have more time to explore the Rockefeller Plaza.

IMG_2194IMG_1402

Once you find yourself inside the lobby you will experience nearly the same thing as if you’ve visited the Empire State Building.) There’ll be hosts to lead you to the elevators! Top of The Rock only has 70 floors, so you’ll be headed first be headed up to the 67th floor then followed by 69th and 70th floor. There you will have to go through security and further ticket checks again but after that you’ll see the entire indoor floor which includes gift shops, many pictures, facts, exhibits and sculptures of the Rockefeller Center and the Top of The Rock!

FullSizeRender (5)Remember to take pictures with the big windows too! & run fast to claim your spot or else you’ll have to endure a long wait until you can get your picture (the guys that came after me had to wait awhile until I got my good picture hehe..sorry not sorry.)

IMG_2203IMG_2202

Above is a picture of me on the 67th floor & below is a picture of me taking a picture of the 67th floor from the 70th floor lol)

IMG_2188

We didn’t spend too much time on the 67th floor, because it was a pretty crowded and small space. but there you’ll find you get pretty sweet views of the city behind the transparent, safety glass.

The 70th floor however, provides a 360 view of the city in open air with no safety glass. It’s definitely still safe though because of course the area is barricaded with a gate system as you can see in my pics further down. My mom was still scared to even get close to the ledge to take pictures.. she and heights are not close friends. So she took a lot of behind the scene action shots of my little sister and I haha.

FullSizeRenderIMG_2200IMG_1670

All in all, the experience you get at Top of The Rock will be as equally wonderful as the experience you get at the Empire State Building. You get amazing views and a different perspective of the city from above. The difference is that at TOTR you will get to actually see the ESB and take pictures with it in the background.

IMG_2197Outfit: F21 dress & bag | Converse | H&M sunnies

Behind the scene shot courtesy of my mom 🙂 My little sister was the one taking my pictures! I wanted them in front of the Empire State building hehe (I mean, when in NY!). It was really windy up there so it took quite some time to take a few good pictures where my hair didn’t completely gobble up my face.

IMG_2201

IMG_1672IMG_1674Look ma, I touched the top of the Empire State Building!

IMG_1673

Maybe you’ve happened to notice but in my earlier pictures in front of the Rockefeller Center I was wearing this dress differently! I just love versatile dresses such as this one, it can be worn off the shoulder or if you don’t want to expose your shoulders, you can pull the arms of the dress up and wear it another way.

IMG_2199IMG_2198

“Better to see something once than to hear about it a thousand times.”

I believe in this proverb a lot. When you actually see something for yourself, with your own eyes, it’s far better than just hearing what someone has to say about it. Wouldn’t you agree? You know for certain what that place is like, what happens there, etc. Once you experience something yourself and actually live it, you get to become the storyteller. Don’t always wait to hear about someone else’s. I’ve always read about New York, seen clips of the Empire State Building in movies and heard about what my friends’ experiences at Top of The Rock have been like and I have always been captivated by the idea of going there one day, but man I’ll tell you when the day comes when you’re physically inside that city, there’s really nothing in the world that can compare. If you’re lucky enough to have the means & opportunity to travel and see the world, please do so. Live and tell your story! Anyways, I’m going to end this post now… because I’m not sure where this is exactly headed anymore haha… well I’m excited for future adventures to come and I’m excited for what lies ahead for you all as well!

Thanks again for sticking around despite my long and rambly posts 🙂 ❤ see you next time!

Stay connected with me on: Instagram / Pinterest / Tumblr / Twitter

signature

13 thoughts on “Top of The Rock

  1. Aww I miss New York so much ❤ 🙂 It'll be awhile before I go back, so in the meantime, I'll just live vicariously through your photos! Haha hope you had a great summer Lynna! And aww I remember those sentimental feelings on my last first day of school as well. I hope you have an amazing senior year! 😀

    XO, Elizabeth
    http://clothestoyouuu.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have NY withdrawals already ;( hahah. but although my trip is over, I will still be basking in its reminiscent glory :p I hope you enjoyed your summer as well lovely! and thank you so much for your kind wishes as always ❤ xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind comment, Mack!! 🙂 ❤ NY is absolutely incredible, I didn't want to leave hahah. Glad you enjoyed the pictures and hope you're having a wonderful weekend! xo

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehe thanks so much Vivienne!! Got many compliments on this dress, it really is lovely, I’m super obsessed with the OTS look! 🙂 & will definitely check out your post soon- excited to read about your take on the 90’s looks! have a wonderful week! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

